Sydney Peace Prize Awarded to the #MeToo Movement

The founder of the #MeToo movement, New York-based activist Tarana Burke, has been awarded this year’s Sydney Peace Prize in conjunction with Australian journalist Tracey Spicer.

The two recipients will receive the prize on behalf of the #MeToo movement on November 14 at Sydney Town Hall where they will deliver the 2019 Sydney Peace Prize lecture.

Sydney Peace Prize winner and #MeToo campaign founder Tarana Burke.

Sydney Peace Prize winner and #MeToo campaign founder Tarana Burke.Credit:AP

The sometimes controversial prize, bestowed by the Sydney Peace Foundation at the University of Sydney, has been awarded in the past to Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Mary Robinson, Noam Chomsky, Patrick Dodson, Naomi Klein, and the Black Lives Matter Global Network.

The 2019 Sydney Peace Prize Jury’s citation recognises the #MeToo movement for ”empowering survivors of sexual harassment and violence, and elevating their voices; for championing truth and justice; for highlighting the breadth and impact of sexual violence worldwide; and for launching a demand for change that is sweeping the world”.




You may also like...